It’s Not What it Looks Like

I know that it seems like I missed two days, but I didn’t. I only missed one. I didn’t write anything yesterday.

However.

On Saturday, I did write something. Funny story about that. Okay, so I was tired, right? Because I’d been monotonously gluing layers of paper on top of each other all evening. That’s even less interesting than it sounds, let me tell you. I cut up a bunch of paper lunch bags and just glued them, layer by layer. It was a pain in the ass.

Anyways, so I was dead tired and I finally just told my BFFFFFF that I had to write my story and go to sleep, because we’d been talking on the phone for a little while. So, I wrote something. I’m afraid that, for my life, I cannot remember what that something was about, but I know that I wrote it directly into WordPress and when I finished, I read it, and I liked it. I was tired and hazy at the time, so I could be wrong, but I seem to recall thinking, “Man, this is the best short story I’ve written all month!”

Anyway, a couple misstrokes of the keyboard later, and wouldn’t you do know it? The tab was X’d out, and I was mad and disappointed and I decided that I didn’t have the energy to rewrite that little gem–whatever it was. So, I went to bed.

As for yesterday, I have no excuse. I just didn’t do it. Sorry?

Well, I’ve only got about half an hour or so, maybe 45 minutes, because I have to be at a banquet by 4:30. The banquet’s at a teacher’s house. It’s going to be a party.

I oughta get writing now, so, you know. Here it goes!

“Is that World of Warcraft?” I asked conversationally, peering over the shoulders of my friends to see the computer screen. It looked sort of like it, but it was different somehow, so I wasn’t sure.

A guy laughed. “Yeah, yeah, it’s World of Warcraft,” he said. I didn’t see what was so funny about it.

“Dude, no it’s not, it’s–” another boy started before the first said, “Nah, man, just let her keep believing it is.”

“Ohhhh,” I said in understanding. “So this is that other one… Um… Star-something or another? It’s not Minecraft, but it’s, like… Um…”

The boy guffawed. “Minecraft? This is not Minecraft.”

“It’s Starcraft,” someone supplied nicely.

“Oh.”

I pouted and sat down in a comfy chair, playing with the hem of my tulle-layered skirt. My sister was holding hands with her boyfriend, both of them cheering on the gamers who were crowded around the desktop computer. “Some party…” I mumbled.

“C’mon, Eun!” I heard my sister cry. “Show ’em!” She was cheering for the girl who was presently at the keyboard, an Asian with her long hair bleached orangeish. Her eyes were focused intently on the screen as she clicked her way through who-knows-what.

“Lousy gamers…” I said under my breath. I got up and left the cramped little bedroom that all of the party-goers were smashed into, and I went outside for some air and a bit of soda.

“Hey, Ellie,” said a voice from behind me. I saw another girl my age standing by the screen door. She had long and wiry black hair with a few grays mixed in, despite her only being fifteen. “Six AP classes’ll do that to you,” she once told me.

“Hey, you,” I said. “Pop?” I offered her the bottle of Dr. Pepper, which she received without hesitation and took a big swig of it.

“Wanna turn on some music?” she asked.

“Anything that’s totally mainstream would be nice.”

We were in the garage, where the party was supposed to be taking place, and she sat at the workbench where there was a laptop and some speakers. A few keystrokes brought the dulcet tones of Katy Perry to our ears.

“I’m tired of them being so antisocial…” she told me.

“Yeah, I’m getting a little annoyed, too. I mean, they spend all their time gaming…” I said, nodding in agreement.

“I know, right? I mean, I like myself some WoW–that is, when they let me play on their server without trying to kill me–but it’s irritating that even at a party, this is all they want to do!”

I sighed. She couldn’t be more right. We talked the evening away like this, completely undisturbed by the other “party-goers”.

Leave a Reply

