I might be back.

Hey there. I’ve been realizing lately that as much as I say I want to write, I really don’t do a lot of it. Maybe it’s because I do other things. I knit, and I want to be a fashion designer, and I’m trying to read more, and I have a boyfriend and a bunch of really cool friends that I spend time with, and I was in a play, and frankly I just don’t have all that much time.

May’s coming up, though, and that means it’s time again for Story A Day May! Last year I wrote on all but six days of May. Of course, a few of those days, I didn’t actually write a story, but I at least posted on the blog, so that’s something, right?

Anyway, it’s midway through April–happy birthday, Emma Watson!–and I think it’s time for me to start brainstorming! Last year’s stories all came out rushed, lacking in continuity or logic, plotless, undeveloped, poorly thought out, nonsensical, lazy, and just crappy. This year, though, I plan to actually grow as a writer! I need plots. I need characters, and settings, too. I need a pronounced lack of inhibition more than anything. Last year, everything came out muddled and try-hard-y, which are two things that I like to think I’m not.

Alright, it’s time to get the juices flowing. I’m just going to list things now.

  • my typewriter
  • being in the rain without proper apparel or equipment
  • spicy barbecue sauce
  • finding a job
  • shorts that are really short
  • actors and being an actor
  • Alaska, I bet there’s cool people there (not making a pun, I’m just trying really hard to train myself to not think of Sarah Palin when I think of Alaska, so instead I try to think of awesome things that relate to Alaska, like glaciers and very small towns and snow and caribou which are really amusing animals, I assume)
  • sometimes fashion is really weird, like wearing a baggy “boyfriend jacket” that doesn’t ACTUALLY belong to your boyfriend. How does that make sense?
  • Bjork, whom I’ve never listened to, but I find her swan dress to be the height of hilarity and that “Bein’ Quirky” skit on SNL quite hilarious
  • I’m learning how to spin wool! There’s a lot of physics involved, which I hate, but it’s kind of interesting at the same time.
  • I have a lot of yellow objects and clothes, and I love it so much
  • My friend is getting married. Her family has apparently forsaken her for this decision, which is terrible, but I can’t help but feel incredibly happy for her and her fiancee. It’s very exciting, though she is only eighteen, and he is a few years older than that, which is potentially creepy (they are not creepy at all, though)
  • I have a vase of dead flowers sitting on my dresser. I need to throw them away but I don’t want to pick them up and make a mess.
  • Jack White!
  • I own many pairs of shoes. I own twice as many shoes as I own pairs of shoes.
  • I drink too much soda, and I’m terribly unhealthy!
  • I’m going to get a very short hair cut! Think Audrey Hepburn in Roman Holiday.

Okay, so hopefully one of these seventeen useless statements or fragments will help me write a story if I need inspiration during May. Expect more to come throughout the remainder of the month… I’ll try to keep my word.

Leave a Reply

